The Doshas

The 5 basic earth elements of nature are ether/space, air, fire, water, earth. According to the science of Ayurveda, the universe and all living beings, including human beings are made up of the same five basic elements. These elements compose the building blocks which everything within the material world is created from.  According to Ayurveda the five basic elements combine with each other to give rise to these three bio physical forces, energy types or doshas, known as Vata, Pitta and Kapha. The elements ether/space and air combine to constitute the dosha Vata (air).  Fire and water combine to constitute the dosha Pitta (fire). Water and earth combine together to give rise to the dosha Kapha (earth).

 The Vata doshas dominant principle is movement and is mainly responsible for all kinds of movements in a living being. The Pitta doshas principle is thermal dominant and is responsible for transformation and heat in the body. The Kapha doshas dominant principle is water, responsible for synthesis in the body and anabolic activities. 

 The 3 doshas, energy types or bio-physical forces govern all the physical, mental and psychological systems within the body and the environment. When these elements are in balance they protect us both physically and psychologically, however when there is imbalance is when disease begins to manifest. The energy types Vata, Pitta and Kapha govern all bodily functions from creation, maintenance, destruction of bodily tissues and elimination. They determine psychological responses and basic core emotions such as fear, joy and sadness, alongside higher human responses such as understanding, compassion and love.  

Read more about the dosha qualities.

Contributed by Carina Jones of CiCis Ayurveda ~ Carina is a certified Ayurvedic practitioner, equipped with simple but powerful logical and metaphysical tools on how to restore daily balance within the mind and body. 

Read about Carina's powerful journey.

Visit CiCis Ayurveda.

Image by Siy Studio.